Removing the metadata on your social media

Published on

Removing the metadata on your social media sharing is necessary to protect your identity.

A unique and robust password, enabling 2-factor authentication. -Use a strong password -Use different passwords for different accounts
-Don't reuse passwords
-Do not grant admin privileges to third-party apps.

What is 2-factor authentication?
2-factor authentication is a way to protect your account by adding a layer of security.

Privacy settings:

What are the privacy settings?
Privacy settings are things that the user can do to control how much data they show to other social network members.

Keep in mind that anything you do on the Internet may be archived and become publicly available, permanently. Consider every post you make as permanent content because not only can it be found using standard internet search engines, but perhaps even more importantly through third-party web archiving services. No matter what you post, it will likely be documented and indexed by machines.

What are some of the ways in which people can access deleted information? -The Way Back Machine (Web) -Politwoops (Twitter)

Don't Share Email or Phone Number.

When giving out your email address or phone number, people must be careful not to share too much information. This includes posting their real email address or mobile number. This gives hackers, trolls, and spammers more ammunition to use against the people, and can also lead to separate aliases, profiles, or data points being connected.

Don't Grant Unnecessary Permissions.

-What are the risks of granting an app access to your contacts, call log, location, and messaging history? -How can the Bouncer app help with this?

The risks of granting a social network app access to your contacts call log, location, and messaging history are that the app will access sensitive information such as your contacts, call log, location, and messaging history. A bouncer is an Android app that allows for temporary permissions. With Bouncer, you can grant permissions to an app temporarily. This can be helpful if you want to use an app for a specific amount of time but don't want to give it access to your contacts, call log, location, and messaging history. Remove metadata before uploading media.

This is important because metadata can contain personal information such as the geographic location where the media was captured. Before uploading pictures to the web, remove metadata such as the exact location, the camera's name, duration the photo was taken for (1/1000th of a second), date and time, and other useful information about the picture. This protects your privacy in case you upload an image to social media and then later regret it. The Metadata Anonymisation Toolkit is a free command-line tool to remove EXIF data from photos. You can also use tools like Tage Remover (Windows) and ExifTool (Mac/Linux).